Yealink security gap – closed

Rate post
(0/0)

RPS Update for Yealink VoIP Phones

When is the update scheduled?
This RPS update is scheduled at 3:00PM~4:00PM (UTC+8), February 12, 2020. All the RPS services will still be up and running during the update.

What has been updated?
To improve the overall quality and security of RPS service offering, Yealink has updated the RPS Service Policy as below:
1. Yealink RPS service is mainly designed for brand-new phones, and we strongly recommend customers to use it only for the initial setup process. For the initial setup, the user experience of RPS service remains the same.
2. For existing phones which have been provisioned via RPS once, an additional two-factor device authentication is now required and implemented when these phones request for RPS service again. If the authentication fails, the phones will be blocked from accessing RPS service.

What may occur to customers?
When you are doing a factory reset to reconfigure an existing phone via RPS service again, you may get a prompt on phone screen asking you to enter the last 5 digits of the Serial Number of this device. Please follow the instructions to enter the digits to finish the authentication. Otherwise, the device will not be able to connect to RPS.

What can be done to help customers?
Currently we provide two options as follows to help customers:
Option #1: Users can enter the last 5 digits of the phone’s SN when prompted for it after factory resetting the phone to complete the two-factor authentication.
Option #2: If the customer is unable to find or enter the SN by themselves, you may unlock the device via RPS Admin Portal.

If you have questions or need assistance do not hesitate to contact us.

We are happy to call you back for further questions.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen