OPNsense – The Next Open Source Firewall

Rate post
(0/0)

High-end Security Made Easy ™

VARIA Ready-to-Use Systems with the OPNsense Firewall

With the release of the new APU board series, VARIA simultaneously launched “ready-to-use“ models of the OPNsense firewall system. The high-performance embedded board of Swiss manufacturer PC Engines is ideally equipped with a 1.0 GHz AMD Embedded G-Series T40E CPU (dual-core and 64 bit support) to run stably and reliably in demanding 24/7 network environments.

And why OPNsense?

On the dashboard of the current version you can see all information in real time at a glance.

OPNsense offers decisive advantages over competitors, like forward caching proxy, traffic shaping, intrusion detection as well as an easy setup of OpenVPN clients. OPNsense is not a new invention, but already well established in the market.

Admin section with system information

OPNsense is an open source, easy-to-use and easy-to-build FreeBSD based firewall and routing platform. OPNsense includes most of the features available in expensive commercial firewalls, and more in many cases. It brings the rich feature set of commercial offerings with the benefits of open and verifiable sources.

OPNsense started as a fork of pfSense® and m0n0wall in 2014, with its first official release in January 2015. The project has evolved very quickly while still retaining the familiar aspects of both m0n0wall and pfSense. A strong focus on security and code quality drives the development of the project.

A fixed release cycle of 2 major releases each year offers businesses the opportunity to plan upgrades ahead. For each major release a roadmap is put in place to guide development and set out clear goals.

OPNsense provides a security update every week and, thus, reacts quickly to new threats.

Features & Highlights

The feature set of OPNsense includes high-end features, such as forward caching proxy, traffic shaping, intrusion detection and easy OpenVPN client setup. The latest release is based upon FreeBSD 10.2 for long-term support and uses a newly developed MVC framework based on Phalcon.

OPNsense’s focus on security brings unique features such as the option to use LibreSSL instead of OpenSSL (selectable in the GUI) and a custom version based on HardenedBSD.

The robust and reliable update mechanism gives OPNsense the ability to provide important security updates in a timely fashion.

View Products

OPNsense – The Next Open Source Firewall

Diesen Artikel bewerten
(0/0)

High-end Security Made Easy ™

VARIA "Ready-to-use"-Systeme mit der OPNsense-Firewall

Mit dem Release der neuen APU Board Serie, startete VARIA gleich mit vier "Ready-to-use“-Modellen des OPNsense Firewall Systems. Das hochperformante APU Industrie-Embedded Board des Schweizer Herstellers PC Engines ist mit dem 1,0 GHz AMD Embedded G-Series T40E APU (Dual-Core und 64 Bit Unterstützung) bestens gerüstet, um auch in anspruchsvollen 24/7 Netzwerkumgebungen stabil und zuverlässig zu laufen.

Und warum OPNsense?

Im Dashboard der aktuellen Version sehen Sie sehr übersichtlich alle Infos in Echtzeit

OPNsense bietet entscheidende Vorteile gegenüber dem Wettbewerb, wie zum Beispiel Forward Caching Proxy, Traffic Shaping, Intrusion Detection und einfaches Client-Setup OpenVPN.
OPNsense ist dabei keine neue Erfindung, sondern bereits fest am Markt etabliert.

Adminbereich mit Systeminformationen

OPNsense ist eine open-source FreeBSD-basierte Firewall- und Routing-Plattform, die einfach zu installieren und zu bedienen ist. OPNsense umfasst den Großteil der üblichen Funktionen kommerzieller Firewalls, und in den meisten Fällen sogar mehr. Es kombiniert die vielfältigen Funktionen kommerzieller Angebote mit den Vorteilen einer offenen und nachprüfbaren Quelle.

OPNsense war anfangs eine Abspaltung von pfSense® und m0n0wall und wurde erstmals im Januar 2015 veröffentlicht. Das Projekt entwickelte sich schnell, wobei bekannte Aspekte von m0n0wall and pfSense® beibehalten worden. Ein starker Fokus auf Sicherheit und Code-Qualität treiben dieses Projekt voran.

Ein fester Release-Zyklus von zwei Hauptreleases pro Jahr bietet Unternehmen die Möglichkeit, Upgrades im Vorfeld zu planen.

OPNsense stellt wöchentliche Sicherheitsupdates bereit und reagiert damit schnell auf neue
Gefahren.

Funktionen & Merkmale

Der Funktionsumfang von OPNsense umfasst High-End-Features wie Forward Caching Proxy, Traffic Shaping, Intrusion Detection und ein einfaches Setup von OpenVPN Clients. Die neueste Version basiert auf FreeBSD 10.2 für langfristigen Support und nutzt ein neu entwickeltes MVC-Framework, das auf Phalcon basiert.

Der Fokus auf Sicherheit bringt einzigartige Funktionen mit sich, wie z.B. die Option, LibreSSL anstelle von OpenSSL zu wählen (wählbar in der GUI), sowie eine benutzerdefinierte Version, die auf HardenedBSD basiert.

Die robuste und zuverlässige Aktualisierungsfunktion ermöglicht es außerdem, wichtige Sicherheitsupdates zur rechten Zeit zur Verfügung zu stellen.

zu den Produkten